IRFA Staff and Board Members

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association was formed in 2002 to represent the state’s biodiesel and ethanol producers. The trade group fosters the development and growth of the renewable fuels industry in Iowa through legislative and regulatory efforts, education and promotion, and infrastructure development.

Board of Directors



Eamonn Byrne, Plymouth Energy, LLC

Vice President

Steve Bleyl, Green Plains, Inc.


Bill Howell, POET Biorefining Coon Rapids


Derek Winkel, Renewable Energy Group

Past President

Tom Brooks, Western Dubuque Biodiesel, LLC


Craig Willis, Archer Daniels Midland

Rick Schwarck, Absolute Energy 

Board Members

Pat Edmonds, Big River Resources
Brad Davis, Corn, LP
Jerry Calease, Golden Grain Energy
Mathew Driscoll, Homeland Energy Solutions
Eric Hakmiller, Lincolnway Energy
Daryl Haack, Little Sioux Corn Processors
James Broghammer, Pine Lake Corn Processors
Al Giese, Quad County Corn Processors
Bob Van Gelder, Siouxland Energy Cooperative
Brad Wilson, Western Iowa Energy

IRFA Staff

Monte Shaw, Executive Director,
Lucy Norton, Managing Director,
Grant Menke, Policy Director,
Cassidy Riley, Communications Director,