IRFA Announces “Fuel the Future” Iowa High School Video Contest Winners

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association (IRFA) recently announced Anna Steenson of Des Moines won first place in IRFA’s 5th Annual “Fuel the Future” video contest for Iowa high school students. The IRFA awarded the senior from Central Campus a $1,000 grand prize for her creative and informative video titled “E15: Powering the Future.”


First place winner Anna Steenson at the 9th Annual Iowa Renewable Fuels Summit.

Karly Lent of Bettendorf, Iowa won the $600 second place prize for her video entitled, “Let’s Fuel the Future.” Karly is a junior at Bettendorf High School.

Jacquelyn Huynh, Dakota Karthan, Maria BabcockandJordan Bacon won the $400 third place prize for their video entitled, “Good for Your Car, Better for Iowa.” This group of girls is a collection of juniors and seniors from Ankeny High School.

 “First, I want to thank all of the Iowa high school students who took on the challenge of entering this year’s contest and learning about the benefits of using renewable fuels,” stated IRFA Communications Director T.J. Page. “This year’s video contest winners all created highly imaginative, entertaining, and informative videos that do a great job of explaining the benefits of using cleaner-burning biofuels like ethanol and biodiesel.”

IRFA’s “Fuel the Future” video contest challenges Iowa high school students to create the best video highlighting the importance and benefits of renewable fuels—such as ethanol and biodiesel—to local communities, Iowa and the nation. This year’s contest was sponsored by the law firm of Faegre Baker Daniels LLP. In addition to receiving $2,000 in prizes, the top three videos were featured at the 9th Annual Iowa Renewable Fuels Summit. All of the contest entries are posted on IRFA’s YouTube channel:

The first place winner can be found here:

The second place winner can be found here:

The third place winner can be found here:

Previous News Article