National Biodiesel Board Recognizes Gov. Branstad for Leadership, Support of Biodiesel

Contact: Cassidy Riley

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA – Today the National Biodiesel Board recognized Iowa Governor Terry Branstad with the National Energy Leadership Award at the 2017 National Biodiesel Conference in San Diego, California. He received the award for his work in 2016 on the Iowa Biodiesel Production Tax Credit, Biodiesel Promotion Retail Tax Credit, and the Renewable Fuels Infrastructure Program (RFIP). In response, Iowa Renewable Fuels Association Executive Director Monte Shaw made the following statement:

“Today the National Biodiesel Board affirmed what Iowans already know, that Gov. Branstad is a champion for our Iowa-grown renewable fuels – especially biodiesel. We are grateful of what Gov. Branstad helped accomplish last year.  But he is not one to rest on his laurels and he included another year of funding for the RFIP in his 2017 budget proposal.  As his time as governor comes to an end, it is clear his commitment to biofuels remains strong. Few governors will go to the lengths Gov. Branstad has to support the growth of renewable fuels in his state and no one is more deserving of this honor.”

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association represents the state’s liquid renewable fuels industry and works to foster its growth. Iowa is the nation’s leader in renewable fuels production with 43 ethanol refineries capable of producing 4 billion gallons annually – including nearly 55 million gallons of annual cellulosic ethanol production capacity – and 12 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce over 350 million gallons annually. For more information, visit the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association website at: