IRFA PAC Announces 2018 Champion of Renewable Fuels Awards for Iowa Legislature

Iowa Legislators Receive Awards Based on Voting Record and Renewable Fuels Leadership

Contact: Cassidy Walter

JOHNSTON, IA – The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association (IRFA) PAC today announced the 18 recipients of its “Champion of Renewable Fuels” awards for state legislators. The IRFA PAC Board awarded state legislators seeking reelection who maintained a clear voting record supporting renewable fuels and displayed leadership for renewable fuels in the Iowa Legislature. This is the fifth election cycle that the IRFA PAC has given such recognition.

“The IRFA PAC is proud to support these ‘Champions of Renewable Fuels’ who’ve consistently supported and led on important renewable fuels issues,” stated IRFA PAC Treasurer Daryl Haack. “Iowa is number one in the nation when it comes to renewable fuels production, and that doesn’t happen without great leadership and forward-thinking policies from our elected officials. These Champions have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the renewable fuels industry and have led the way in efforts to strengthen Iowa’s economy by improving opportunities for ethanol and biodiesel.”

Recipients of the 2018 Champion of Renewable Fuels awards are:

Senate Champions

Sen. Tim Kraayenbrink       SD 5

Sen. Tom Shipley              SD 11

Sen. Jack Whitver              SD 19

Sen. Annette Sweeney      SD 25

Sen. Amanda Ragan          SD 27

Sen. Rob Hogg                  SD 33

Sen. Jim Lykam                 SD 45


House Champions

Rep. Dan Huseman           HD 3

Rep. Chris Hagenow          HD 19

Rep. Dave Sieck                HD 23

Rep. Jane Bloomingdale    HD 51

Rep. Todd Prichard            HD 52

Rep. Linda Upmeyer          HD 54

Rep. Mark Smith                HD 71

Rep. Dave Jacoby             HD 74

Rep. Amy Nielsen              HD 77

Rep. Dennis Cohoon          HD 87

Rep. Lee Hein                   HD 96


The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association represents the state’s liquid renewable fuels industry and works to foster its growth. Iowa is the nation’s leader in renewable fuels production with 44 ethanol refineries capable of producing 4 billion gallons annually – including nearly 55 million gallons of annual cellulosic ethanol production capacity – and 12 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce over 380 million gallons annually. For more information, visit the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association website at: