IRFA PAC Announces 2020 Champion of Renewable Fuels Awards for Iowa Legislature

Iowa Legislators Receive Awards Based on Voting Record and Renewable Fuels Leadership

Contact: Cassidy Walter

JOHNSTON, IA – Today the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association (IRFA) PAC announced 15 Iowa state legislators are receiving the PAC’s recognition as a “Champion of Renewable Fuels.” The IRFA PAC Board selected state legislators seeking reelection who have maintained a clear voting record of support for renewable fuels and displayed leadership on biofuels issues in the Iowa Legislature. This is the sixth election cycle that the IRFA PAC has given such recognition.

“Today IRFA PAC is standing by Iowa legislators who have stood by Iowa biofuels” said IRFA PAC Treasurer Daryl Haack. “Renewable fuels add incredible value to Iowa farmers’ commodities, boost Iowa’s economy, and help keep Iowa’s air clean. But we cannot continue to provide these benefits without leaders supporting us and helping us grow. Today’s ‘Champions of Renewable Fuels’ have done exactly that, and we are proud to recognize them.”

Recipients of the 2020 Champion of Renewable Fuels awards are:

Senate Champions

Sen. Amy Sinclair               SD 14

Sen. Janet Petersen          SD 18

Sen. Craig Johnson           SD 32

Sen. Pam Jochum             SD 50

House Champions

Rep. Jacob Bossman         HD 6

Rep. Chris Hall                   HD 13

Rep. Matt Windschitl          HD 17

Rep. Dave Sieck                HD 23

Rep. Wes Breckenridge     HD 29

Rep. Pat Grassley              HD 50

Rep. Jane Bloomingdale    HD 51

Rep. Todd Prichard            HD 52

Rep. Dave Jacoby              HD 74

Rep. Dennis Cohoon          HD 87

Rep. Lee Hein                    HD 96

The Iowa Renewable Fuels Association represents the state’s liquid renewable fuels industry and works to foster its growth. Iowa is the nation’s leader in renewable fuels production with 43 ethanol refineries capable of producing over 4.5 billion gallons annually – including 34 million gallons of annual cellulosic ethanol production capacity – and 11 biodiesel facilities with the capacity to produce nearly 400 million gallons annually. For more information, visit the Iowa Renewable Fuels Association website at: